This is the "Home" page of the "Online Faculty Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This library resources guide is designed to accompany the online faculty training for English/Fine Arts/Humanities resources. It is an "alerting service" for online faculty.
Last Updated: Jul 13, 2014 URL: http://saintleo.libguides.com/online_faculty_guide_english_arts_humanities Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books and eBooks

All of the library's print books, electronic books (eBooks), journals, electronic journals (eJournals), magazines, newspapers, trade publications, videos, music, and reference materials can be searched at one time using the powerful "discovery" search box on the library's home page. Here's how it works: Type in a simple, short, natural language search phrase, click "Go" and review the results. Then, use the limiters on the left side of the results screen to filter items by format, date, author, publication, and more.

Another useful feature of the OCLC Wordcat search engine that powers the "discovery" search is that your students can send themselves a tinyURL from the catalog by email. This tinyURL will take them back into the catalog to the exact page containing the hyperlink to the desired eBook. We think this streamlines the process of finding and using eBooks.

In addition to using the "discovery" search of the online library catalog, OCLC Worldcat, you may choose to search individual eBook collections, databases, or eJournals by title and keyword, too. In this type of search, it might be advisable to select collections or modules specific to a particular subject or academic discipline.

NOTE: The two largest eBook collections (eBrary and EBSCO eBooks) offer a download option that is intended primarily for our students who are in deployed or who live in areas where Internet connection can be problematic. Use the "Help" feature within these collections to find out how to set up this feature.

Credo Reference

http://ezproxy.saintleo.edu/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/ includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and bacrground information on a wide range of subjects. It includes subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. For example, take a look at the subjects listed in the screen-shot below.  (Funds for http://ezproxy.saintleo.edu/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/ through Saint Leo University’s Annual Fund 2010)

Credo Book Titles

Subject Guide

 

A Note about Reference Resources

Most undergraduates need to begin a research paper by consulting reference materials to gain some idea of the scope, depth, breadth, and complexity of a topic before digging deeper into the literature, or they risk not being able to comprehend the reports of research they attempt to utilize.

Please encourage students to consult reference collections, such as http://ezproxy.saintleo.edu/login?URL=http://www.credoreference.com/, Oxford Digital Reference, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

We have noticed many students shy away from these sources because they think they are not allowed to use them...yet, without consulting reputable and reliable background materials, they fail to understand the research materials they ultimately find or resort to online sources such as Wikipedia in an attempt to make sense of the research they are reading.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip